- Advertisement -Newspaper WordPress Theme
CricketWhat is Test Cricket? Rules of the Test Cricket Format

What is Test Cricket? Rules of the Test Cricket Format

Test cricket is the longest and oldest format of international cricket. It is played over five days, with each team having two innings to bat and two opportunities to bowl. Test matches are considered the ultimate form of the sport, testing the skills, endurance, and temperament of the players.


Test cricket is played between two national teams, each representing a country. The teams consist of eleven players each, including specialist batsmen, bowlers, and a wicketkeeper.


A Test match is played over a maximum of five days. Each day’s play consists of scheduled sessions, usually three, with breaks for lunch and tea. If the match concludes before the fifth day, the remaining time is not used.


Each team has the opportunity to bat and bowl twice, referred to as innings. The team winning the toss decides whether to bat or bowl first. If the match ends within the first four days and both teams have completed their innings, a result is achieved. However, if the match reaches the fifth day and a result is not yet obtained, it may end in a draw.


There is no limit to the number of overs in Test cricket. An over consists of six balls bowled by a bowler. The captain of the bowling team decides which bowler will bowl from one end, and after every six balls, the other end is taken by a different bowler.

Length of Play:

Play continues until a predetermined number of overs (usually 90) have been bowled in a day, or the team batting last achieves the target set by the team batting first. If the team batting last reaches the target, they win the match. If they are unable to reach the target and complete their innings, the match is considered a loss for them.


Batsmen can be dismissed in several ways, including:

a. Caught: If the batsman hits the ball and it is caught by a fielder without bouncing.
b. Bowled: If the bowler’s delivery hits the wickets, dislodging the bails while the batsman fails to defend.
c. LBW (Leg Before Wicket): If the ball would have hit the stumps but hits the batsman’s leg first and the umpire determines it would have hit the stumps.
d. Run Out: If the batsman fails to reach the crease at the striker’s end while the ball is thrown and hits the stumps before they do.
e. Stumped: If the batsman leaves their crease to play a shot and misses, and the wicketkeeper collects the ball and removes the bails while the batsman is out of their crease.
f. Hit Wicket: If the batsman accidentally dislodges the bails with their body or bat while playing a shot.
g. Timed Out: If a new batsman fails to arrive at the crease within a certain time limit after the dismissal of the previous batsman.

When ten of the eleven batsmen are dismissed, an innings is concluded.


If the team batting first establishes a substantial lead over the opposing team (usually 200 runs or more), the captain of the team batting first may enforce the follow-on. This means the team batting second has to bat again immediately without a break. However, the follow-on rule is not mandatory, and the batting team can choose to continue playing their second innings without enforcing it.


The team captain may declare an innings closed at any time, even if all ten wickets have not fallen. This is often done to set a target for the opposing team to chase within a specified number of overs. Declarations are usually made when the batting team believes they have enough runs on the board and wants to give themselves enough time to bowl the opposition out.

Runs and Scoring:

Batsmen score runs by hitting the ball and running between the wickets

. Each run completed by the batsmen contributes to the team’s total score. They can also score runs by hitting boundaries. If the ball crosses the boundary rope without bouncing, it is considered a four runs. If the batsman hits the ball over the boundary without bouncing, it is considered a six runs.

Certainly! Here are a few additional details about Test cricket:


Test matches are officiated by two on-field umpires and a third umpire who has access to TV replays to assist with decisions. The on-field umpires are responsible for making decisions on the field, while the third umpire reviews certain types of dismissals and other contentious situations, such as boundaries and run-outs.

DRS (Decision Review System):

The Decision Review System is used in Test cricket to challenge umpiring decisions. Each team is allowed a limited number of reviews per innings to challenge the umpire’s decision. The review can be used to challenge a dismissal or to verify if a delivery resulted in a wicket.

Batting Order and Partnerships:

The batting order in Test cricket is determined by the team’s strategy, and it can be different for each innings. Batsmen generally bat in a sequence based on their batting skills, with the best batsmen often coming higher up the order. Batsmen form partnerships while batting together, and their aim is to score runs and protect their wickets.

Fielding Positions:

There are various fielding positions on the cricket field, strategically placed to maximize the chances of taking wickets. These positions include slips, gully, point, cover, mid-off, mid-on, mid-wicket, square leg, fine leg, and deep positions near the boundary.

Over Rates:

Test matches have regulations regarding the minimum number of overs that should be bowled in a specified period to maintain the pace of the game. If a team fails to bowl the required number of overs in the allocated time, penalties can be imposed.

Pitch Conditions:

The condition of the pitch can have a significant impact on the game. Test matches are played on a variety of pitches, ranging from flat and batsman-friendly to seaming and spin-friendly surfaces. The state of the pitch can change over the course of the match, affecting the behavior of the ball and the strategies employed by teams.

Series and Rankings:

Test matches are often part of a series played between two teams. A series consists of multiple Test matches, usually played one after another. Test rankings are maintained by the International Cricket Council (ICC), which ranks teams based on their performance in Test matches over a specific period.

Historical Significance:

Test cricket has a rich history and tradition. It has been played since the mid-19th century and is considered the original format of the game. Many iconic cricketing moments and records have been set in Test matches, and they hold a special place in cricket folklore.


A Test match can have one of four outcomes:

a. Win for the team batting last: If the team batting last successfully reaches the target set by the team batting first within the allotted number of overs.
b. Win for the team batting first: If the team batting first bowls out the opposition for a total lower than their own and enforces a follow-on or takes all ten wickets in the second innings.
c. Draw: When all innings are completed, and neither team has won. This happens when the full five days are played, and no team achieves a result.
d. Tie: When both teams have scored the same number of runs at the end of the match, with all innings completed.

These are the basic rules of Test cricket, which make it the longest and most strategic format of the game. Test matches often provide intense battles and are considered a true test of a team’s skill, endurance, and mental strength.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe Today





Get unlimited access to our EXCLUSIVE Content and our archive of subscriber stories.

Exclusive content

- Advertisement -Newspaper WordPress Theme

Latest article

More article

- Advertisement -Newspaper WordPress Theme